Townships reorganize for 2022

Per Pennsylvania law, all municipalities in the state went through their annual reorganization Monday. In Chadds Ford Township, Samantha Reiner was voted to be the new supervisors’ chairman, and Noelle Barbone was elected vice-chairman.

Maryann Furlong was reappointed township manager, Mike Maddren as township solicitor, Mike Schneider was reappointed as township engineer, and Tom Comitta was reappointed as land planner.

Valerie Hoxter takes the oath of office as Chadds Ford Township tax collector during the annual re-organization meeting held this year via Zoom.

Also during the Jan. 3, held via Zoom, Judge Wendy Roberts administered the oath of office to those who won elections in November. Those people are Reiner, as supervisor, Vince DelRossi as auditor, and Valerie Hoxter as the tax collector.

Despite six council seats up for grabs this past November, the council structure in Concord Township remains the same as it has been. Members voted Dominic Pileggi as council president, and council members John Gillespie and John Crossan again voted in as co-vice presidents.

That status quo carried over into the paid professionals. Amanda Serock was reappointed as township manager, Nate Cline of Pennoni Engineering is the township engineer, Hugh Donaghue is again the township solicitor, and Tom Comitta was reappointed as township land planner.

During the swearing-in portion of the meeting, Judge Roberts administered the oath of office to newly elected councilman Larry Mutschler, while former state Sen. and current Common Pleas Court Judge Dominic F. Pileggi administered the oath to the other five re-elected council members.

It’s status quo in Pennsbury Township. Aaron McIntyre and Wendel Fenton were re-elected as chairman and vice-chairman of the Board of Supervisors. There’s also no change in other positions. Kathy Howley was reappointed as township manager, Tom Oeste as solicitor, and Matt Houtman as the township engineer.

It’s also status quo in Birmingham Township. Scott Boorse and Michael Stiring will serve as chairman and vice-chairman of the Board of Supervisors for another year, and Quinna Nelling is, again, the township manager, while Kristin Camp was reappointed solicitor. The only change in Birmingham is for the township engineer. But that change — from VanDemark & Lynch to Arro Consulting — happened in May of 2021 to consolidate engineering, zoning, and building code functions.

In Pocopson Township, Elaine DiMonte was named supervisors’ chairman, and Ricki Stumpo was named vice-chairman.

East Marlborough Township supervisors elected Robert McKinstry to be chairman for another year while electing Burling Vannote as vice-chairman. There were no changes for township manager, solicitor, or engineer.

Newlin and West Marlborough townships did not respond to inquiries.

About Rich Schwartzman

Rich Schwartzman has been reporting on events in the greater Chadds Ford area since September 2001 when he became the founding editor of The Chadds Ford Post. In April 2009 he became managing editor of ChaddsFordLive. He is also an award-winning photographer.



1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, average: 1.83 out of 5)

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.