Election results: Status not so quo

A light voter turnout, but some big changes.

While many of yesterday's local election results reflect business as usual, several county races saw Democrats topping Republicans in what had been traditionally strong GOP areas. And one Republican victory could have an impact on what happens to the Toll Bros. plan to develop Crebilly Farm in Westtown Township.

Westtown supervisors are holding a conditional use hearing on that proposal, but incumbent Supervisor Tom Haws, a Democrat, lost yesterday's election to Planning Commission member Scott Yaw. Unless Westtown supervisors vote on the issue before the end of this year, Haws will not be in office to vote. It will likely be up to Toll Bros. to decide whether Yaw should be allowed to vote.

In Delaware County, only District Attorney Jack Whelan won a countywide race, elected to Judge of the Court of Common Pleas. Democrats Brian Zedek and Kevin Madden defeated Republicans David White, an incumbent, and John Perfetti for County Council.

Madden and Zedek pulled in 61,695 and 60,657 votes respectively, while White received 58,712 votes and John Perfetti pulled in 58,454. Libertarian Ed Clifford received 2,040 votes.

Incumbent Republican Sheriff Mary McFall Hopper also lost. Democrat Jerry Sanders is the new sheriff in the county. Sanders beat Hopper 61,846 to 58,435. A distant third was Libertarian Matt Wallace with 2,818.

Chester County, too, saw a change. Incumbent Clerk of Court Robin Marcello lost to Democrat Yolanda Van De Kol. That tally was 56,113 to 50,119.

In the open seat for magisterial district judge in the Kennett Square area of Southern Chester County — Birmingham, Pennsbury, Pocopson, Newlin, Kennett and East Marlborough townships and Kennett Square — Democrat Al Iacocca defeated Republican Jane Donze by 5,036 to 3,569.

In Chadds Ford, Concord, Pennsbury, Pocopson and Birmingham townships there were no surprises. Incumbent Republican Supervisors Noelle Barbone, in Chadds Ford, Wendell Fenton, in Pennsbury, and Ricki Stumpo, in Pocopson, were unopposed in their bids for re-election.

Also unopposed in Birmingham was John Daniel Hill. Hill will replace John Conklin on that Board of Supervisors. Conklin did not seek re-election.

There were also no surprises in Concord Township where Dominic Pileggi, John Gillespie and Tom Mahoney ran unopposed for four-year terms on Township Council, and Joshua Twersky and John Crossan ran unopposed for two-year terms on council.

But there were changes in East Marlborough Township where incumbent Republican Supervisor Eddie Caudill and fellow Republican Tom Simpers lost their races for supervisor. Voters there elected Democrats Julia McGovern Lacy and Robert B. Ministry Jr.

Those results were Lacy and McKinstry getting 1,126 and 1,104, respectively, while Simpers received 880 and Caudill 845.

In the Unionville-Chadds Ford School Board elections, Region A incumbents Elise Anderson and Jeff Hellrung, and Region B incumbents Tom Day and Steve Simonson won re-election. All four cross-filed and were unopposed.

All results are unofficial until verified by voter services.


1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (6 votes, average: 4.33 out of 5)

About Rich Schwartzman

Rich Schwartzman has been reporting on events in the greater Chadds Ford area since September 2001 when he became the founding editor of The Chadds Ford Post. In April 2009 he became managing editor of ChaddsFordLive. He is also an award-winning photographer.



Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.